The Priest’s Lament?

               I liked her better

               Quiet.

               It was safer then –

               When I did all the talking,

               When she sat in her seat

               And took it in.

               I liked her better

               Then.

               But now she raves

               And makes so many waves

               In my church

               That I’m frightened –

               I liked her better quiet!

               I really don’t want her to speak!

               What if the meek

               Believe her

               And not

               Me?

               Oh, I liked her better

               Quiet.

 

This entry was posted in Catholic Church. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Priest’s Lament?

  1. Barbara DiTommaso says:

    Barbara, this is wonderful! May I send it to our Call To Action group in the Capital District? (CTA is a nationwide organization for justice in society and in the Church. A number of the local members are St. Vincent’s parishioners.)

    Barbara DiTommaso
    Director
    Commission on Peace and Justice
    Roman Catholic Diocese of Albany
    40 N. Main Ave.
    Albany NY 12203-1481
    (518) 453-6695
    Fax (518) 453-6792
    barb.ditommaso@rcda.org

  2. jackie shea says:

    Barb, I read your blog. It is great. I cannot understand women who would not stand to be treated as a second class citizen at work or in their homes but feel it is ok for the Church to treat us that way. (The Church as an institution –world-wide )

Leave a comment